Quick cup of COCA – bring to * boil

Image

Click on image above to go to result screen.

Short post to show another example and power of the wildcard asterisk. The image shows the results of comparing /bring to * boil/ in the American COCA and the British BNC.

A tweet  by @AnneHendler asked /In British English, is it considered more acceptable to say “Bring to the boil” or “bring to a boil”?/

@Marie_Sanako replied /I would always say ‘bring to the boil’./, both @cgoodey /I’d bring something to THE boil too!/ and @GemL1 agreed /”bring to the boil” is what I would say./ whilst @michaelegriffin added /if it’s about cooking I can only imagine myself or other am eng users sayin “a boil”. If metaphoric I dont know./.

Update:

I was reminded recently by a twitter exchange with  @rosemerebard that this online workshop is a great primer to using a corpus BYU: BNC & COCA.

One of the things I hope is clear with these Quick cup of COCA posts is that having a clearly stated problem/question will facilitate the search process.

Penny for your thoughts

