Social media and professional development

I had heard a lot about using social media to connect with colleagues, and I signed up for a Twitter account sometime in 2009 but rarely used it.

It is now Feb 2012 and I restarted my twitter account (@muranava).

The reason being that I felt somewhat blocked in my professional development and thought why not try following some stars in my field. Lo and behold, reading various comments and posts and lurking in various discussions actually reinvigorated my thirst to learn new things.

One of the things that piqued my interest (again, I might add since I had found this interesting a while back as well) is the use of corpora in language teaching. I plan to do a separate post on that in the future.

So I really do recommend teachers to use Twitter and other social media to help you keep up and hopefully inspire you.

Update:

Russell Stannard gives a good lowdown in the Guardian on How English language teachers can go with the twitter flow

Penny for your thoughts

